Book review: Milton’s Secret

Book title: Milton’s Secret: An Adventure of Discovery through Then, When, and the Power of Now
Author: Robert S. Friedman, Erkhart Tolle
Illustrator: Frank Riccio
Amazon book description: Milton, who is about eight years old, is experiencing bullying on the school playground at the hands of a boy named Carter. Because he is being picked on, Milton no longer enjoys going to school. In fact, he dreads each morning because of his fear of Carter. By discovering the difference between Then, When, and the Now, Milton is able to shed his fear of being bullied. Living in the Now, he no longer dreads encountering Carter–and this changes everything.
Source: personal copy
Age range: 7 – 100 (according to the blurb on Amazon)
Rating: 4/5

I bought this book a while ago but for some reason when it arrived I wasn’t drawn to reading it straight away. I am a big fan of Erkhard Tolle and I think that alone prompted me to buy the book – yes the big name marketing worked a trick on me! But if I’m honest, what really put me off reading it sooner was the style of illustrations which just didn’t do it for me (sorry Frank). Having said that, when I finally got around to reading the book I was very glad I had. What I enjoyed most was the lessons and inadvertent teachers Milton learns from before having his own lightbulb moment. First there is his pet cat, then his grandfather and finally the bully he is afraid to face. The story is not didactic or patronising and as an adult I enjoyed the straightforward explanation and tools within it – a nice summary of the power of now. Milton’s Secret is a simple story with a powerful message about how to be present and clear about what is real and what is a fear-based thought masquerading as reality.

One thought on “Book review: Milton’s Secret

Leave a comment